Thirsty Thursdays: Spicy Watermelon Mint Cooler

8 May

Today’s skinny cocktail is inspired by my favorite cold pressed juice of all time, which, devastatingly, was discontinued.  The first time I ever had Pressed Juicery’s Watermelon Mint was two summers ago, after a Bikram Yoga class.  It was like, August, and hot as you know what outside (<- insert your own expletive). I was standing in the parking lot after class, struggling really hard not to publically die from Bikram, as that was not the way I had ever planned on going.  So not only did that juice save my life (probably literally; I think I would have face planted on the asphalt and knocked myself out if someone hadn’t shoved it into my hands), it also sincerely won my affections. I was hooked, and to this day, watermelon juice brings back memories of summer.

When temps soared the 90’s last week at the beach, I was inspired  to create a version of my favorite summer juice, spiked with a little vodka and a dash of cayenne pepper, of course. This cocktail has the makings of a winner: refreshing, a little spicy, and hot pink.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 or more cup of cold-pressed watermelon juice
  • 2 lemons, squeezed
  • 1 lime, squeezed
  • Fresh mint
  • shake of cayenne pepper, optional
  • 1-1.5 shots vodka, although rum or even Silver Tequila would likely work as well
  • Splash of soda water, optional

Directions:

  • Muddle mint with citrus juices
  • Add ice
  • Add the vodka and soda water, if desired (<- this is a great recipe for spicy watermelon juice, if you’re not in the mood for a cocktail)
  • Give a shake of cayenne and stir well.  Garnish with mint and a watermelon wedge.

water setup1

watermelon1

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

