Skinny Raspberry Jalapeno Margs

24 Apr

Here’s a fact about me that you may not know: once upon a time, I lived in London and was a bartender.  While the majority of what I made was pretty simple, I spent a lot of free time messing around behind the bar, creating cocktails. As a result, I’ve been the resident bartender among my friends ever since.

I’m not a huge drinker these days, but I must admit that it’s impossible extremely difficult for me to turn down anything in the margarita family. I suppose anyone even remotely health conscious is aware that your standard marg is full of sugar and calories (<- sometimes up to 600, seriously), so bless your heart Bethany Franklel, for providing mainstream access to the Skinny Girl margarita.

While I’m quite pleased with the fact that one can buy a bottle of SG at almost any old grocery store, I will forever be a proponent of homemade cocktails as a first choice.

Well, summer is right around the corner and now that it’s actually still light when I get home from work, I’ve been getting the itch to sit on my balcony and watch the sunset. Which of course, is to be done with a margarita in hand.

Obviously.

My favorite at the moment is a combination of a few of my favorite flavors: raspberry + jalapeno. Sweet and spicy, oh hay!

4

3

7

6

ingredients (makes 4):

  • i container raspberries
  • 4+ ounces tequila (I prefer Reposado, but whatever you’re into)
  • 1-2 lime (to taste), juiced
  • 6 ounces club soda (optional)
  • 1 tbsp sweetner of choice  (also optional – I usually skip but sometimes use coconut sugar)
  • I jalapeno, sliced lengthwise – I don’t seed mine because I like it spicy, but this is up to you
  • Ice

-Use a muddler or fork to mash raspberries and distribute evenly among 4 glasses

-Add ice, and evenly distribute lime juice, tequila, club soda, and jalapenos. Give a good stir, and enjoy.

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Skinny Raspberry Jalapeno Margs”

  1. Erin Mayo April 24, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

    The muddler I got you makes the blog! #famousmuddler

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

