Mango Ceviche Tacos

11 Apr

I know I promised some fitness (etc) posts ASAP, but after some solid TV watching followed by an inspired dinner tonight I just couldn’t resist.

I’d apologize but I know that after you try this, you’ll forgive me!

This all stems from a slightly unhealthy obsession with Anthony Bourdain and all three of his TV shows. Say what you will (sorry if I sound defensive here, but my friends take great pleasure in harassing me about this), but anyone who gets to travel the world and eat the best of each country while doing so is my hero, and will consequently win over roughly 95% of allotted television viewing hours.

Anyway, I was laying on the couch watching No Reservations in Panama, and Tony was yammering away about some pineapple ceviche with sea salt and hot sauce…cue grumbling stomach. As soon as the show concluded I marched my ass into the kitchen and started tearing into the refrigerator. It must have been my lucky day because inside were enough relevant ingredients to throw together a ceviche that Mr Bourdain himself would have been impressed with.

Yeah, so this ceviche is sorta perfection. The mango is the key here: it elevates your regular ol’ ceviche to a crave-worth combo of sweet, salty, tangy and spicy (<- that’s like, a lot going on, in a good way. Holla!). You can use it as a status-quo dip for chips, but I think its best side is brought out wrapped in a corn tortilla. Like, as in a taco.

It’s enough to impress a boy (hi =tacos, boys love tacos) but will still meet the strict standards of your healthiest girlfriends.

Here are your ingreds:

  • 2 cups of cooked shrimp, tails removed and cut into pieces
  • 1 mango, cubed
  • juice of 1 lime and 1/2 lemon
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1 cucumber, peeled and cubed
  • 1 large avocado, cubed
  • 1 serrano chili, seeded and chopped
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • Hot sauce to taste

Mix it all up in a big bowl, cover it, put it in the fridge and let the flavors marinate for a couple of hours.  Spoon into corn tortillas and serve with your favorite Mexican sides.

And a couple big skinny margaritas. Obvi.

7

5.5

1

3

 

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

