AB&J Muffins

9 Apr

So I’ve been on a little bit of a food post kick lately. I really began this blog with the intentions to talk health, wellness, and fitness, but I keep seeming to get distracted with food. I mean, fitness is my passion, but lately cooking has become my therapy. And um, well I really like to eat.

I think most people come home after a long day and either play with their kids or plop down on the couch. Lately, I’ve been going straight to my kitchen and work on cooking up something new for dinner (please keep in mind I eat breakfast for dinner 50% of the time, hence the abundance of breakfast recipes). Makes me feel like some sort of hungry mad scientist…well, a mad scientist who ruins a lot of experiments. Oopsie.

But when I make something that exceeds my expectations or is popular with my friends or husband, I do a little victory dance in my apron.

Sorry for the visual.

I promise to post more about health & fitness soon, but in the meantime, I have something I want to share with you: almond butter & jam muffins.

Nut butter and jam in muffin form?  No complaints here, at least not from me!  It also just so happens that these can be easily modified to be vegan and/or gluten-free. They also happen to be flourless, extremely low in sugar (1/4 c maple syrup across 12 muffins = negligible amount per muffin) and also happen to be made from whole foods.

Oh. And they’re kinda amazing if I don’t say so myself: a victory dance was indeed performed after Danny finished his and promptly went in for a second.

 

OM4

Omuffin2

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups rolled oats (use gluten free if desired)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 2 cups almond milk
  • 1 egg or 1 flax egg (for vegan)
  • ¼ cup maple syrup or honey
  • ¼ cup dried fruit or nuts (optional)
  • mashed berries or strawberry chia seed jam, to taste (I used about 3/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup almond butter or nut butter of choice.

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Prepare 2  bowls: in the first, combine oats, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and jam. In a the other,  whisk together the coconut oil, almond milk, syrup/honey, and egg. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.
  3. Distribute the batter into 2 lined muffin tins (batter will be pretty wet, btw). Bakes for 25-35 minutes or until  just golden brown. Bake time can vary depending on size of muffin tins, so just keep an eye on them.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

