Caramel Apple Remix

7 Apr

Caramel apples have never been my thing. It’s not that I don’t like them, but they’re a real pain in the ass. Trying to eat one in public is about as ladylike as a bearded man doing Crossfit. I mean, I know I’m not exactly the epitome of “ladylike,” but really, caramel in my eyelashes and peanuts in my teeth? No thanks, not a great look for me… and no offense but probably not for you either.

Sorry.

These little apple pops are a completely different story. Aside from being so addicting, there are other upsides:  No biting into a gigantic piece of fruit covered in sticky crap, no eyelash caramel, no gross fake toppings. Just perfect, easy, 3 hitter quitters dipped in date caramel, rolled in stuff that’s good for you.

Some examples of this include:

  • Goji berri & hemp seed
  • Pistachio
  • Almond Joy: crushed almonds drizzled in healthy Magic Shell
  • Samoa Girl Scout Cookie: unsweetened coconut drizzled in healthy Magic Shell
  • Fleur de Sel: caramel with Himalayan sea salt

I’m also thinking something including nut butter would be magical, but I was fresh out when I made these.

use

 

1

2

The date caramel I used is also magical.  I’d been meaning to try it  for a while, and am I ever so excited about the outcome.  I don’t know why I’m so surprised by this, but it’s absolutely incredible.  Like, soooo much better than “real” caramel. Say what you want about that, but I stand by it entirely.

The best thing is that it’s the easiest thing ever to make:

  • 1/2 cup pitted dates
  • 2 tbsp melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp kosher or Himalayan salt
  • almond milk to achieve desired consistency

Mix in a high power blender or food processor until smooth.

Spread with knife or fingers (the latter is easier) on apple slices, and top with whatever blows your skirt up.

Done and done.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

