Breakfast, Times Two

18 Mar

After significantly stepping up my workouts a couple of months ago, I was complaining to my  trainer that no matter how hard I worked out, I wasn’t seeing the muscle tone that I wanted.

“Well, what are you eating?” She asked me. Before I could even get to the lunch menu, she gave me a chilling look that made it clear something I was doing was wrong. Apparently, waiting to eat my first meal of the day until several hours after my morning workout was a serious no-no. While breakfast is my fave meal of the day and never, ever skipped, I’m an early bird and am usually working out by 5 or 6am, so breakfast at 8 or 9 always seemed reasonable.

Wrong.

Per her suggestion, I began eating both before and after hitting the gym or going on a run. Guess what? It totally helped make the difference I was looking for. As in, I started getting compliments on my muscle tone within a couple of weeks.

Soooo….now I’m a real psycho about eating before I work out, even if it’s at 4:30am. Nothing crazy, just a lil somethin’ to get the metabolism fired up and fuel my workouts.

Oatmeal is my go-to: While I go in and out of liking hot oatmeal, overnight oats are always my jam. I throw them together right before bed and put it in the fridge so it’s ready to go – no excuses to skip eating that early. My favorite version is a small mason jar with a quarter cup of oats (sounds like not a lot but it like, doubles, overnight), about a half cup of unsweetened almond milk, a quarter of a banana, sliced strawberries or some smashed black/blueberries, and a light sprinkle of hemp of chia seeds.

graphic 1

graphic2

Now that we’ve covered pre-workout, let’s talk post-workout. It’s totally, completely important to get some protein in within about a half hour of finishing your sweat sesh, in order for the muscles to repair themselves.  I used to be super lazy about consuming protein after workouts, but now I totally have a nervous breakdown if I don’t have something onhand. If I don’t have time to make some eggs and veggies, my second fave is simple: a scoop of flavorless protein powder, a tablespoon of cocoa powder, a half cup of frozen cherries, a cup of unsweetened almond milk and some ice thrown in the blender. Tastes like a milkshake, and can be drank from a wine glass.

post graphic

It’s a win-win situation if I don’t say so myself.

XO

M

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

