70’s Power Food: Your Newest Mid-Day Snack

25 Feb

For the longest time, I primarily associated grapefruit with the infamous diet of the 70’s, but recently I was grocery shopping and saw a gorgeous mountain of basketball sized pink fruit right in the middle of the produce section. I hadn’t eaten a grapefruit in years, but they were so pretty that I threw one in my cart on a whim. Since then, I’ve been having them daily as part of my afternoon snack.

If you’ve never tried a broiled grapefruit, I’m not surprised (because right, who eats grapefruit?) but you’re definitely missing out. The heat brings out their sweetness, and sprinkling a teaspoon or so of brown sugar will enhance it even more (Relax my little crazies- there are like, 15 calories in a tablespoon…not exaggerating). The whole thing feels quite naughty. Only it’s not.

Directions: Cut fruit in half and cut along the outer rim. Sprinkle with brown sugar or succanat and follow up with a good shake of cinnamon. Broil for 5-10 minutes.

Eat with spoon and party like it’s 1974.

1 2 3 4

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

