Multigrain Blood Orange Scones with Homemade Nutella

4 Feb

As far as a sweet tooth goes, I’d say mine is on the average side. I don’t find myself craving sweets very often, but one thing I’m literally unable to turn down is a good scone. It’s also one of my favorite things to bake at home – I actually spend an embarrassing amount of time perusing the Interwebs in search of a great scone recipe that isn’t completely dreadful in terms of health. I have to say I was delighted to stumble across a recipe for multigrain blood orange scones – guest posted by a favorite food blogger on this blog.

These babies are excellent – the spelt flour, cornmeal, and oatbran make them extra rustic (I particularly enjoy scones this way), and I am always impressed with the utilization of a couple good blood oranges. After burning my mouth while eating one fresh out the oven, I realized it was only missing one thing: chocolate. I mean, chocolate is pretty much the perfect companion to orange, in my opinion. A little digging turned up a forgotten jar of homemade dark chocolate Nutella, which was promptly spread atop the now cool-enough-to-eat second half of my pastry.

The beauty in these, aside from being absolutely spectacular, is that they’re easy, simple, and extremely filling. It’s the perfect little breakfast if you’re craving something special.

You can find the recipe for the scones here, and the Nutella here.
4

use

use3

use4

XO

M

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

