The Carb-iest non Carb Ever.

28 Jan

Well, I’ve been AWOLNation the past few weeks. I’m really sorry about that, but I’m not above bribing you with all sorts of fascinating information to share this week in return for your forgiveness. Pretty please?

Wonderful!

Moving on. Ever since the receipt an artisan bread cookbook that my aunt gave me for Christmas, I’ve been hellbent on trying out a homemade bread. There have been three things holding me back from this: 1.Non-ownership of a bread stone, which apparently is important in the bread-making process. 2. Inability to sweet talk the dough into rising, also apparently important in said process. 3. The recipes are just a bit too time consuming for me to squeeze this in as an after-work project. So yeah…bread fail.

Why bread? Because I am a proud consumer of carbohydrates. Seriously. Even pasta and real bread, if I’m out to a great dinner with the husband or at brunch with the girls.

On a daily basis though, I do try to make nutritious carb choices  – oatmeal, Ezekiel bread, sweet potatoes -but it’s definitely safe to say I indulge some sort of carbs regularly. Which is where the following recipe comes in handy.

So wait, where was I? Ah yes, breadmaking. So my friend Rachele from Fantastically Fresh & Fit posted a recipe for Gluten-Free, Grain-Free Paleo bread on the ol’ Facebook, but I sort of wrote it off (too many “frees”). However, nagged at me a bit and told me to take a second look, and oh – I am so glad I did. In fact, I’ve put together a numbered list about what makes this recipe so rad:

  1. I had all the ingredients in my pantry (rare)
  2. There is not a single sketchy ingredient in the recipe
  3. The pre-baking time was took less than 10 minutes, and….no stone required, no rising necessary.
  4. I nailed the recipe on the first go-round (rarer than unicorns)
  5. It’s high in protein and low in carbs

I could definitely keep going but I think it’s best if you just try it for yourself.

Paleo/Grainless/Gluten Free Bread – adapted slightly from Elana’s Pantry Paleo Bread

PS: All of those fancy “x-free” titles do NOT equate to “eat-an-entire-loaf-of-me-bread,” so carry on as normal in terms of consumption, please.

  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 2 tablespoons coconut flour
  • ¼ cup ground flax seed
  • ¼ teaspoon kosher sea salt
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda 
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1 tablespoon honey (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

Instructions:

  1. Place flours, ground flax, salt and baking soda in a food processor and pulse together.
  2. Pulse in eggs, oil, honey and vinegar
  3. Pour batter into a greased 7.5 x 3.5 magic line loaf pan (<- you can use a different size but it will alter the shape of the bread)
  4. Bake at 350° for 30 minutes
  5. Cool in the pan for 2 hours
  6. Cut into slices and serve.

Top with homemade nutella, chia seed jam, use as a the base of the best breakfast sandwich ever, or whatever tickles your fancy ;).

Oh, and naturally I was so delighted that I had to push my luck a little bit, and fell across this gem of a grain-free, white-flourless Pumpkin Bread recipe, which I’m eating as I write this. 🙂

bread1

bread7

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

