Kale N’ Eggs Breakfast Sandwhich

22 Jan

I’m a creature of habit when it comes to food. I find something I like and I’ll eat it over and over for weeks on end, until I stumble across something I like more. Right now, I’m really into breakfast.

Breakfast has always been my favorite meal but lately I’ve been eating it for lunch and dinner, too. One of my favorite on-the-go breakfasts ever is the Gjelina Egg Sandwich from Gjelina Take Away on Abbott Kinney (guys, I can’t even begin to explain its wonders), but more often than not, the line is around the block and I’m running late for work.

So I began making my own version at home.

Kale might not sound like much of a breakfast food, but I promise you it’s the life of the party here. The whole thing takes less than 15 minutes to throw together, and can be (carefully) eaten wrapped up in a paper towel on your way out the door.

This also happens to be one hell of a hangover helper, if that happens to be a problem you suffer from.

Ingredients:

1 egg

1 slice bacon, cooked

big handful of kale

1/2-1 clove of garlic, finely chopped

lemon

Ezekiel English muffin, toasted ((teaser alert ->> or homemade grain-free bread!! Post on this coming  soon))

Hot sauce of choice

sprinkle of Parmesan

**

Heat your pan on medium-high and coat with a splash of olive oil or cooking spray. Once hot, add garlic and cook for a couple of minutes until fragrant and add kale. Squeeze half a lemon on top, and cook until soft and wilted. Set aside.

Re-coat pan and crack egg, flipping once. Cook until desired doneness,

Add cooked bacon (broken into 2 pieces), kale, and egg to toasted muffin (I eat mine open faced, but you get down with your bad self and make an actual sandwich if you feel like it!). Top with hot sauce and a good sprinkle of cheese, kosher salt, and pepper.

2

4

She might not be the prettiest girl at the prom, but I’m telling you, she’s worth it.

XO
M

One Response to “Kale N’ Eggs Breakfast Sandwhich”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Carb-iest non Carb Ever. | Legwarmer Nation - January 28, 2014

    […] with homemade nutella, chia seed jam, use as a the base of the best breakfast sandwich ever, or whatever tickles your fancy […]

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

