Seven Days of Salads

13 Jan

Last week I decided that a week of salads for dinner was in order.

There were two driving reasons for this:

1. I’ve been feeling extra busy, with some new undertakings at work and on the homefront, and when I get busy the last thing I feel like doing is cooking in a hot and stuffy kitchen. Salads are a quick and easy solution – and something that I rarely make for myself, although I too often spend $14 making them at Whole Foods.

2. I’m sorry to keep dwelling on the holidays, but let’s be honest – not many greens were consumed. Like not many at all, and I start to feel pretty yucky when I don’t have my greens. And while I do try and supplement my meals with a daily green juice, I don’t like counting it into my total daily veg intake since most of the fiber has been removed.

I like fiber.

Anyway I was extremely pleased with the salads that came out of this experiment, but one of my favorites was this bad boy. Probably because it was super easy, tasty, and didn’t require any meat prep – one of my least favorite things to do in the kitchen.

Yet Another Great Kale Salad. serves one

A couple handfuls of dinosaur kale

Buttnernut squash, cubed and roasted (Admittedly, I buy the pre-cut bags at WF to save me the trouble and about 3/4 of the bag is perfect…but I happen to know they also sell large bags at Costco). I didn’t have a clever name for this guy. so we’ll just call him

A half cup or so of cooked quinoa

A good sprinkling of Percorino cheese

Pomegranate Seeds

1/4 Avocado

A small handful of toasted walnuts

Grilled Onions to your taste

A dressing made of equal parts EVOO, lemon juice, white wine, vinegar, as well as chopped shallots, and dried mixed herbs, drizzled on top and tossed.  These aren’t the finest pictures because I took them at night, but you get the idea.

salad2

salad3

Oh-so-easy, extremely tasty, and full of antioxidants! It’s delish on its own but would be a great side to a main. I promise to share my other favorite, the modified Cobb, a little later on this week.

XX

M

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

