Almond Joy Bark

19 Dec

Well, the countdown to Christmas is on and I’m hoping you’ve got your shopping just about wrapped up by now. I hope that for you because most naturally, I do not. I’ve tackled my husband, got some ideas for my mom and dad (thankyouverymuch express shipping), and my friends and I skip the whole gift-exchange now in favor of a handful of nights spent together during the holidays.

But sometimes I need a little inspo when it comes to the people in my life who I like a whole lot but aren’t necessarily the bestie, the fam, or the sig other.  Well, I always love a good DIY gift, and this recipe for pistachio coconut bark got me thinking that I should probably create an Almond Joy version. I mean, duh, of course. The good news is that it’s the easiest, quickest recipe with a big payoff- the bark is even more addictive than the candy bars.

Plus, unsweetened coconut, roasted almonds, and dark chocolate? Your giftees won’t even realize that their Christmas candy is full of antioxidants. Tis the season!

bark4

bark 5

bark2

bark3

Ingredients:

1 bag of dark chocolate chips

1 bag of unsweetened shredded coconut

1-1.5 cups of almonds (or pistachios, if you prefer).

Parchment paper

Instructions:

Heat oven to 350 and roast almonds on a foil lined tray for about 10 minutes. Remove to cool. Pulse in food processor if you choose.

Line a baking tray with parchment paper.

Put chips in a microwave safe bowl and heat at 50 pct power for 30 second increments, stirring between each heating- about 2 minutes total.

Pour melted chocolate onto parchment paper and cover with coconut and almonds.

Let harden in the fridge for about an hour; remove and break into pieces with your hands.

Toss these suckers in a mason jar with a pretty bow, add gift tag, and you’re done!! Easiest DIY ever- you’re welcome 🙂

XO

M

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

