Dark Chocolate Maple Cashew Butter + Protein Pancakes

9 Dec

When I was a kid, my dad used to make pancakes for my brother and I on the weekends. I had an extremely impressive appetite for an 8 year old and I used to launch myself out of bed at the asscrack of dawn so I could beat my brother to the breakfast table. Needless to say, I looked very much forward to those mornings of pancakes and bacon.

Today I still consider pancakes one of my very favorite foods and constantly experiment with new recipes (you can find my favorite here). Sometimes when I’m craving pancakes during the week but don’t have time to whip up something complicated, I throw together a couple of protein pancakes- a simple recipe made of a mashed ripe to overripe banana, a half tsp of vanilla and 2 eggs. There are recipes all over the internet – these have caused quite the sensation for the health conscious.

Although I am completely partial to topping my cakes with maple syrup (my love for maple syrup is on par with Buddy the elf’s), a high dose of sugar in the morning is best left for lazy weekends when I don’t have much to do, because the crash usually motivates me to watch hours of Ghost Adventures reruns. But topping them with Dark Chocolate Maple Cashew Butter? Um, yep, that’ll do just fine, thanks. This delectable spread adds even more protein, antioxidants, and just enough maple flavor to take me back to my childhood.

pancakeSo on to the cashew butter. This may be the best nut butter recipe ever.

I have a bit of an affinity obsession with nut butters in general. But after my first go at homemade cashew butter, I knew I had finally found The One. Creamy, gooey, and mildly flavored, cashew butter quickly nestled its way into my heart. Add a little cacao powder, pure maple syrup.  and Himalayan sea salt…and we’re talking next level butter.

Trust me, you’ll be a goner, too.

  • 3.5 C unsalted cashews
  • 1/4 C dark cacao powder (plain cocoa powder works fine)
  • 1/4 tsp pink Himalayan salt, or to taste
  • 4 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil (optional)

Put the cashews in a food processor and blend. If you’re using a regular processor and not a Vitamix (etc), get comfortable. Expect to process around 10-12 minutes- you’ll have to scrape the sides down from time to time and may even want to allow your processor to rest every so often throughout the process so that it doesn’t overheat. Once you’ve got a smooth, creamy consistency add the cacao, salt, and syrup, blending until combined. If the butter becomes dry from the cacao, add coconut oil (you probably will not need it).

Spread on top of your pancakes and prepare to be taken back to your childhood.

XO,

M

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

