Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pie (Vegan)

21 Nov

Two recipes in one week! Crazy, right? But here’s the deal.

Turkey day is right around the corner and honestly, I get a little freaked out about the gorging, eat-till-you’re-sick caloriefest that comes with it. I know that I tell you all the time, I’m not one to feel guilty about eating and trust me, nothings changed.

But here’s what bugs: a holiday where everyone expects you to stuff your face full of food until you’re sick and it’s OK because it’s the one holiday a year where it’s totally cool. Which would be totally cool (I guess), if I liked Thanksgiving food. 

Here’s a short list of food I don’t like very much: turkey (or any poultry, for that matter). Cranberry sauce. Stuffing. Rolls, Green beans. Pumpkin Pie. Call me a communist but none of that stuff does it for me. I don’t hate it, but I don’t like it. In fact I always joke that if I’m going to be expected to stuff my face, next year I’m going to come home with a bag of In-N-Out and a slice of thin crust pizza, and eat it all with a side of mashed potatoes (which duh, of course I like).  But I never do it and every year I end up slightly sick from eating foods I don’t even like. Stupid.

Which is why this year I will be bringing the chocolate chip cookie dough pie, ’cause a homemade graham cracker crust topped with a layer of gooey cookie dough topped with a layer of old fashioned chocolate pudding finished off with whipped cream sounds a whole hell of a lot better than nasty old pecan pie to me (and I won’t even bother to mention to anyone that it’s vegan and free of junk because seriously, no one will know).

Just saying.

pie

Don’t be put off the by the number of steps- this is an easy project. Just make sure that you don’t make it when you’re exhausted and accidentally add 1/4 cup of baking powder to the pie filling instead of 1/4 corn starch because it won’t end well. And by that I mean it will turn a weird shade of green, overflow when you leave the room and end up ALL over your kitchen counter, stove, and floor.

Trust.

Simple Graham Cracker Pie Crust

Ingredients

  • About 10 graham cracker sheets
  • 2-3 tbsp earth spread or vegan butter-type spread

1. Throw crackers in the food processor until they turn to graham cracker dust

crust

2. Slowly add butter until a crust-like consistency is formed. Press into a pie tin and spread evenly.

Cookie Dough– Just use this Cookie Dough Dip recipe – it’s a 5 minute food processor project

1. Once your crust is formed, spread a layer of cookie dough dip evenly on top to form layer 1. 

Vegan Chocolate Pie Filling (from The Post Punk Kitchen)

Ingredients

  • 3 cups almond milk, divided
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • Pinch salt
  • 3 tablespoons semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1. In a  sauce pan, combine 1 cup of almond milk and the cornstarch. Use a fork to whisk until the cornstarch is dissolved. Whisk in the remaining milk, the sugar, cocoa powder and salt until smooth

2. Bring mixture to a boil, whisking occasionally. Once boiling, lower the heat and bring to a slow rolling boil. Whisk consistently until mixture is thickened, about 7 minutes.

3. Add chocolate chips and mix to melt. Stir in vanilla. Pour the pudding on top of the cookie dough layer and let cool for about 15 minutes on the counter, just until it stops steaming like mad. To keep a skin from forming, place a circle of parchment paper over the filling. Refrigerate and let set for at least 3 hours.

Vegan Whipped Cream (optional, but not optional for me)

Ingredients

Easiest 5 minute recipe ever here

1. Pipe onto pie using a sandwich bag with a hole cut through a corner. Or, don’t be lazy/cheap like me and buy yourself a piping bag. Or, if you’re more of a taste-than-aesthetics kinda gal just spoon it on and spread with a knife. Whatever blows your skirt up.

Add one In-N-Out grilled cheese  and a side of mashed yams and you have yourself a perfect little Thanksgiving, LWN style 😉

XO

M

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

