Butternut Squash & Caramelized Onion Tacos + Skinny Margaritas

11 Nov

Mexican food is pretty much one of my favorite things in life. Ask me what I’m in the mood for and 9 times out of 10 I’ll tell you tacos, chips, guac and a skinny margarita or 2.

One day last year, Jess told me that Cafe Gratitude (one of the best vegan restaurants ever) had amazing butternut squash tacos as a seasonal menu item. I so wanted to be excited about this Mexican addition but I just wasn’t. I thought it sounded bland and texture-less.

Well. I eventually broke down and ordered them. These are a true culinary mystery: I have no idea how caramelized onions and butternut squash create such a flavor explosion, but trust me when I tell you, I died.  Even my husband -who has proclaimed on more than one occasion that he hates butternut squash-  will get down on these babies. They’re that good.

Sadly, they weren’t on the menu for long (sniff), but the story doesn’t end here. They were way too good to leave in the past forever, so Erin & I re-created our own version of them…and I whip these up a little more often than I like to admit.

taco2

We made these for the boys on Sunday night and ate them on her patio while we watched the sun drop into the sea.

The only thing better than a beautiful sunset is a beautiful sunset with a skinny margarita. Luckily, skinny margs happen to be the perfect pairing for these bad boys (<- I’m referring to the tacos, btw).

skinny margs

 

ricky

ricky shaker

erin+me inside

tabletop3!

use1

use2

brianyankee

view

Butternut Squash Tacos (serves 4-5)

  • About 2 lbs Butternut Squash, cut into cubes (Trader Joes + Whole Foods both sell it pre-cut)
  •  2 cans black beans (rinse well)
  • 2 Yellow Onions
  • Bell Peppers (Optional)
  • Cabbage (Optional)
  • Chopped tomatoes (Optional)
  • Guacamole (recipe below)
  • Vegetable Broth
  • Fresh Sage
  • Tortillas- whatever you prefer. Corn, whole wheat, sprouted corn, spelt, lettuce- whatever blows your skirt up.
  • S+P

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F.
  2. Toss cubed squash with enough broth to coat, salt, pepper, and chopped sage. Arrange on a greased + tin foil lined baking sheet. Bake for 30 minutes or until soft. Once squash is soft, blend in a food processor until it becomes a thick puree.
  3. While squash is baking, slice onions into rings. Coat pan generously with OO (about 1.5 tbsp) or vegetable broth and heat on medium. Add onions + cook slowly, turning down heat if they start to brown. Cook until soft and sweet – about half an hour. If you want bell peppers too, add them about 15 minutes in.
  4. Assemble Tacos with butternut squash puree, black beans, guacamole, sauteed/caramelized onions, and veggies of choice.

Guacamole

guac

1 large or 2-3 small avocados.

Mash with juice of 1 lime,  1 minced garlic clove, salt and pepper, chopped red onion, and chopped tomato to taste.

Skinny Margaritas (makes 4)

  • 8 oz reposado tequila
  • Juice of 6 limes
  • Juice of 2 Oranges
  • Splash of Fresca or soda water, depending how sweet you like it.

Combine in a shaker & pour over ice. 

So go ahead and give these bad boys a whirl: they’re inexpensive, they’re easy, and I promise they will impress even your most carnivorous friends. And if they don’t, it’s nothing an extra margarita won’t fix.

erin+me outside

XO

M

3 Responses to “Butternut Squash & Caramelized Onion Tacos + Skinny Margaritas”

  1. Justin November 12, 2013 at 12:29 am #

    Awesome!! I think I want to try every one of these recipes ASAP.

    • Meg Motamedinia November 12, 2013 at 2:39 am #

      Hi Justin!! The squash tacos are amazing, seriously (so is the chocolate chip cookie dough dip too, by the way). Congrats on your little one, I heard she is just beautiful!!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Bit of Gratitude | Legwarmer Nation - April 3, 2014

    […] couldn’t decide what to order, so we decided to split. We started with the catalyst for our butternut squash taco obsession, the I Am Transformed: soft tacos with chipotle butternut squash, black beans, avocado, […]

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

