The Deal With Inflammation + 6 Easy Snacks

5 Nov

There’s a lot of talk ’bout inflammation floating around out there. Before you go dismissing it as a a vague term or another buzzword (I know, I don’t blame you), go ahead and give “inflammation / Havard” a quick search on the ol’ Internet. It’s the real deal, but not in a good way.

In some instances  inflammation is a good thing- it’s actually the body’s healthy biological response to irritation, injury, or infection.

But when our insides take on a less-than-ideal state (caused by a host of reasons from stress to obesity), we experience a  more low-grade inflammation which is different than the acute inflammation that occurs when we have an injury.  Low-grade inflammation puts the body in a constant state of physiological stress and can lead to all sorts of yucko conditions from cancer to heart disease and metabolic issues.

So I guess the million dollar question is: how does one fight low grade inflammation? A quick Google search will lead you to a long list of suggestions, but my #1 strategy is… eating food.

Shocking.

Here are a couple of  my fave go-to snacks, all of which happen to be made up of highly anti-inflammatory grub.

SNACKS

1. Berry Salad: I’m confident in your awareness that: 1. blueberries and other dark berries are full of antioxidants 2. The fact that they’re delicious unless you’re insane, and 3. Are key in preventing inflammation (<-you may not know that, but now you do). This little salad is one of my favorites and I break all sorts of food combining rules by eating this alongside my dinner most nights.

Mix blueberries, strawberries, and blackberries with a good squeeze of lemon, torn mint, + a tsp of slivered almonds or chopped hazelnuts, and add a dollop of Greek yogurt if you’re into that.

2. Half an Avocado + Anti-Inflammatory Shot: Call me cray, but I feel like a weirdo if I don’t eat at least half an avo (my fave food ever) and take a shot of this concoction (my favorite shot ever) each day.

Cut an avocado in half and remove the pit, sprinkle with sea salt, freshly ground pepper, and a squeeze of lemon.

The shot can be made with at home with a juicer and is packed full of anti-inflammatories, including turmeric, ginger, and lemon.

3. Sweet Potato Fries Yeah duh. I love anything that tastes like french fries, because, well, because I have working tastebuds. But these are like 9 million times healthier, and in my humble opinion, more yummy.

Pre-heat oven to 400 F. Cut 1 sweet potato sliced into wedges, toss in a teaspoon or so of Extra Virgin olive oil, and sprinkle with cumin, paprika, kosher salt, and a dash of cayenne pepper.   Bake about 30 minutes.

Dark Chocolate + Walnuts: Here’s your version of a super  healthy candy bar, and I promise you it’s more satisfying than a Snack Wells or one of those nasty 100 Calorie snack bags.  A square or two of dark chocky and a small handful of walnuts is super satisfying and packed with healthy goodness… just don’t overdo it if you’re watching your calories- a little goes a long way.

Raw broccoli, cauliflower, and sliced peppers + white bean  hummus. I’m iffy on garbanzo bean hummus. It’s not my fave. But white bean hummus is another story altogether.  It took me a minute to find a recipe that really blew my skirt up, but I finally stumbled upon this way simple recipe – instant winner, super creamy, party favorite, and has been my go-to for a while now. Make some on a Sunday and enjoy it all week.

Chia Seed Kombucha  My experience with Kombucha was very similar to the time I decided to dislike Florence and the Machine without having ever heard a single song. And then curiosity got the best of me and I broke down and listened and fell hopelessly in love. My girlfriend tried her damnedest to convince me that Kombucha did not, in fact, taste like rotten vinegar water.  I resisted for no particular reason other than being difficult. Of course curiosity got me once again and I had to crawl back with my tail between my legs ’cause it’s amazing. Now I drink one almost daily – my fave is GT Chia Seed Kombucha (I ♥ the Hisbiscus, Black Tea, and Ginger flavors), which is packed with probiotics that keepour insides alkaline.

(Photos credit of food network, science daily, GT Kombucha, Syracuse, + Juicemaster Delivered)

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

