Pinterest Test Kitchen, Part 2

1 Nov

Try

Two more big winners this week! Spoil the special someone in your life (even especially if that someone is you) to a bomb.com autumn themed din din this weekend with the Pinterest’s finest offerings.

Tested by yours truly. ♥ You’re welcome.

The Pin: Butternut Squash Lasagna (Vegan, Lower Carb)

Source: My New Roots

Las

(Photo courtesy of My New Roots…I may have been too hungry to take a proper pic)

Difficulty:  Easy

Time Requirement: About 90 minutes total…and worth the wait (an hour is dedicated to roasting the squash).

Taste: Amaze-BALLS. Gotta be honest here, I had low expectations for this. No cheese. No meat. I do love me some Butternut Squash but still…I was pretty convinced this would be bland. WELL WELL WELL. Was I proven wrong! This recipe is absolutely genius- so delish that my lover of all things NOT vegan husband went back for 3rds. And I had 2 big a$$ portions myself.

Notes: I subbed zucchini for celeriac. just didn’t feel like hunting down a celeriac (even though they came in my friends’ farm fresh boxes) and getting all experimental balls with a new veggie. Whatever, I’m sheltered. Plus, I had a bunch of zuchs left over from a few nights prior.  I cut them into slices (I used 3-4 large zuchs) and steamed them prior to assembling the lasagna. If you want legit, noodle-y lasagna, just use  whatever type of lasagna noodles you want.  It won’t kill you….really.

Find it here 

The Pin: Combination of: Harvest Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake, Chocolate Frosting Shots, and Chocolate Chip Blondies

Source: Crazy For Crust + Chocolate Covered Katie

CAKE

Difficulty:  Easy

Time Requirement: Approx 20 min prep + 30 minutes baking

Taste: Happy Halloween to ME! So super delish, like seriously…and I didn’t even feel guilty about grabbing a second helping.

Notes: I saw the original recipe pinned here, and thought it looked like a perfect Halloween treat. But then I thought I’d do a vegan, lower sugar, grainless version instead, because, ummm, why not? Duh. So I used CCK’s recipe for choc chip blondies + chocolate frosting shots and combined ’em into a cookie cake. And then thought, the hell with it, I’m gonna eat some candy corn – it’s Halloween. 😉 So, basically I made the blondie per CCK’s i instructions and baked it in in an 8″ round glass Pyrex. Once it cooled, I frosted it with the chocolate frosting – here are some notes on that:

1. I used the coconut cream per CCK’s suggestion.

2. I used coconut sugar as my sweetener [for both the blondie and frosting].

3. The frosting really will get thicker if you let it set for an hour or so in the fridge, just be patient.

Find it here (for the original recipe),combine here, and here for the vegan, healthier versions.  

One Response to “Pinterest Test Kitchen, Part 2”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Picks | Legwarmer Nation - November 4, 2013

    […] salad at Feed Body & Soul. I skipped the Halloween candy but had a big ol’ slice of  Harvest Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake instead while I snuggled up under a blanket and watched about 4 hours of Ghost Adventures followed […]

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

