Protein Powder: It’s Not Just for Bodybuilders

22 Oct

One of my BFF’s has the sickest, leanest muscles you’ve ever seen, so of course I’m constantly nagging the poor thing for tips and tricks. One thing I noticed when we first started working out together is that she doesn’t leave home without her shaker and some protein mixed with water (ew, I know). But she’s a trainer and knows what she’s talking about, so naturally I jumped on board with her little practice, and what a difference I saw!

Post-workout protein is super, super key so listen up. If you’re going to put the time and energy into a workout, you might as well maximize the effects. Right? Like, I assume you want the ultimate return on your investment. Here’s why it helps to guzzle a protein shake within 20 minutes of your workout.

1. Speed Up Recovery of those Purdy Muscles. When you work out, your muscles get little tiny tears. When those lil’ tears heal, welp, that’s how your muscles develop – giving you that tight, toned look (I assume you’re going for that?). Consuming protein with 20 minutes or so feeds your muscles amino acids + helps speed up the process.

2. Prevent Muscle Loss Ewwie- what? Yep, that’s a thing. If your body is going through physiological stress (and if you work out, you’re putting your body through physiological stress, trust), it requires protein to maintain those sweet triceps. If you don’t get something in your system pretty quickly after a good sweat, well, here’s the non-scientific version: your body will cannibalize itself. Blech.

3. Protein is Good for the Immune System. It’s cold + flu season. The gym, well, it’s kinda germy. ‘Nuff said.

4. Protein is Good for Your Bones. For the love of all things holychoose a protein powder with calcium. I know you can’t see your skeleton and it might not seem as important as having a perky butt, but trust me, one broken ankle and you can kiss that perky butt goodbye for a long, long time.

5. Prevent Post-Workout Binge. Let’s face it. You worked out hard. You’re gonna be starving, and it might not be mealtime. Protein stabilizes your blood sugar and keeps that savage hunger at bay.

 

graphic

I know not everyone has the palette or desire to throw back a big thick shot of protein powder and water. There are quite a few (and by that I mean hundreds of thousands, conservatively) recipes for protein shakes and smoothies floating around out there, but I’ve noticed that the majority of them -although they look delish- are pretty calorie heavy. If you’re just looking for a way to dress up your run of the mill protein and not swap it for a meal, here are a couple of my faves floating around 200 calories (feel free to add your sweetener of choice, if you want it):

Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Shake

1 Scoop Raw Naturals protein powder (chocolate)

1-2 tbsp PB2 powdered peanut butter

1 cup unsweetened vanilla Almond Milk

Good shake of cinnamon

Sprinkle of cacao nibs

Pumpkin Protein (x calories)

1 scoop protein powder of choice (vanilla)

1 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk

2 tbsp (or to taste) organic canned pumpkin

1 tsp Pumpkin Pie spice

shake of cinnamon

shake of nutmeg

Super Food Protein Smoothie

1 scoop protein powder (vanilla or chocolate)

1 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk

1/2 c frozen mixed berries

large handfull spinach and/or kale

1 tsp chia seeds

4 Responses to “Protein Powder: It’s Not Just for Bodybuilders”

  1. Katherine Depew November 5, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    Hi Meg! Can you recommend a good protein powder brand? I purchased the Garden of Life Protein powder (vanilla) and it does not shake well and leaves tons of chucks (maybe there is trick I do not know about). I tried my husbands this this morning and it left a aspartame flavor in my mouth (yuck!) – not sure what brand it is. Ideally I want something that will be good on the go (no blender). Any suggestions would be appreciated 🙂

    btw, love your blog! I have made a couple of the recipes multiple time and love them!

    ~Katherine Depew (formerly Curry :-))

    • Meg Motamedinia November 5, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

      Hi lady!! Thanks! I’m so glad you like it 🙂 🙂

      So I started using and really like Vega, it’s yummy as protein goes and shakes ok in a shaker. It can be a little chunky (I’ve kind of found that to be a problem with lots of vegan protein) so sometimes I just throw it in the blender. Whole Foods sometimes sells little single serving packets so you don’t have to commit, maybe give that a try. I’ve also tried samples of the Arbonne vegan protein and I like that too! (Julie Schioppi is a rep and sells it) Do you use Whey protein? I feel like it dissolves a little easier.
      XO Meg

      • Katherine Depew November 5, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

        Thanks! I will check those out. I was trying to get away from Whey Protein (that is what my husband uses). I don’t eat a lot of dairy so figured vegan would be better for me. Just trying to get the right consistency without the gross after taste. Appreciate the help 🙂

  2. Meg Motamedinia November 5, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

    No problem! I just remembered the other one I like – it’s called Plant Fusion. It tastes pretty good!

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

