The Skinny on Spelt

17 Oct

SPELT

I may have mentioned once or twice about a million times that I’m just a little obsessed with baking. I bake when I’m stressed, I bake when I’m procrastinating, I bake when I’m craving something sweet (even though it usually puts my cravings at bay…weird right?). Basically…I’m a regular Martha Stewart. A Martha who ruins like, at least half of the things she bakes.

I chalk it up to the fact that I never took Chemistry in high school. But I digress.

I prefer to avoid regular and whole wheat flour most of the time (bc it’s totes nutritionally void / causes spikes in blood sugar / stimulates cravings/ etc), so I’m constantly testing alternatives to validate my love for all things baked.

The alternative that seems to work in the most recipes is Spelt flour. So what’s the deal with Spelt? Here are a few points to note:

♥ Hello,  antioxidants + nutrients! Spelt is high in fiber, calcium, iron, manganese, Vit B3, copper,  niacin, and magnesium.

♥ Spelt even contains protein- 1 cup has 11 grams!

♥ It’s inexpensive – about 3 bucks a pound from the bins at Whole Foods.

♥ Spelt doesn’t seem to cause sensitivities in people who are otherwise allergic to wheat (but it’s not gluten free, so consult your doc if you’re intolerant).

♥ It’s easily subbed 1:1 for white + ww flours in most bread and pastry recipes.

So next time you’re craving a little something something and have the itch to get domestic in the kitch, go ahead and try subbing out Spelt, And go ahead, have that extra muffin 🙂

XO

M

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

