Out-of-Shape to Ironman: My Fitness Journey Part I

16 Oct

Hi everyone- good to meet you. I’m fired up to be a part of Legwarmer Nation, but I should let you know off the bat that I’m not a workout guru – I’m a busy regular guy that keeps in great shape on the side.

I’m also an Ironman Triathlete, but more on that another time. Today I’m going to tell you about the first part of my long journey: going from seriously out of shape to getting into excellent shape, how I got there and what it took for me to stay there. All of which eventually led me to who I am today.

Jordan 2

I was in obscenely good shape in high school, and really good shape in college. However, by the time I hit twenty-five, my cheeks were chubbier, my pants tighter and I was having a much tougher time securing dates. That long-ago period of being in great shape was just a fleeting memory, and I was frustrated that I had no clue how to get back into the great shape I had once been in.

One autumn day I was driving back from San Antonio to Austin with my good friend Theo, who happened to a personal trainer. He turned to me while driving and said “You know, I could have you ripped in 90 days,” completely matter-of- fact. I remember thinking not a chance, but I agreed to hear him out. He said told me that if I ate what he told me to and did the workouts he recommended, I’d be “ripped” again in 90 days.  I didn’t believe him for a second, but I agreed, knowing I had nothing to lose at this point.

I committed to those 90 days, even though I had my doubts. It wasn’t easy but like I said, I was committed. A typical day’s diet was clean and looked something like this: a post workout shake and a breakfast of egg whites and oatmeal. Twice daily snacks were fruit, avocado or cottage cheese. Lunch was a turkey sandwich on Ezekiel bread. Dinner was clean too: chicken, steak or fish, veggies, and a sweet potato. I had another shake before bed.

I worked out six days a week: One hard day of weights, one hard day of cardio, and repeat. It was the first time I worked out consistently without being part of a sport and it felt good to physically push myself again. I’ll tell you what was tough: working out like a maniac for thirty days and still seeing zero change in my physique. I wanted to give up! But by the time week six rolled around I was finally beginning to see progress. Not a lot, but it was noticeable. It fired me up and motivated me to stay on track, eating healthy and working out hard.

Going guns blazing and not seeing results for thirty days is a tough sell for anyone, but when I started to see a positive difference in my body after forty-five days, going the last forty-five days became exciting and doable. A total of ninety days later from the start of that conversation in the car, I was thrilled with the way I looked. I was stronger than I had ever been, finally looking sexy in tee’s and finally catching pretty ladies’ attention all over again. 😉

Making big changes isn’t easy. You have to work to get into great shape. I had to commit to eating clean. You will have to make a choice. But once you’re there, staying in great shape is pretty simple – and you’ll want to stay in shape. Workout two or three days a week, eat healthy 70% of the time and you should maintain your results. At least that’s what worked for me.

It’s easy -almost inevitable- to let ourselves get “too busy” and put the workouts on the back burner. Over time, we can begin to eat poorly, and all of the sudden, your body isn’t the body you once knew. T’s turn into hoodies and going to the beach becomes Option Z. It’s important to stay motivated. But the same thing happens once you’re motivated to change though- yes, It takes time for our great bodies to reappear, but but the commitment to get healthy was worth it… and I’m happy to report that I am still turning heads.

jordan before 2.jpg

Jordan after

Jordan 1

Jordan Schreiber is an Ironman competitor and all around fitness fanatic. His website is under development but in the meantime, find him online here:

www.facebook.com/jordan.schreiber.10

Twitter- Jordan Schreiber @itsallgood9933

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

