Shots Before Noon

5 Sep


So I have a confession.

I’m completely addicted to throwing back a shot or two as soon as I drag my ass outta bed every morning. Call me dependent, but I swear it takes the edge off and fires me up to get my workout on.

Before you go calling my parents about an intervention, I should clarify that my little habit is 100% booze free. My cocktail of choice is a combo of freshly juiced turmeric and ginger with lemon, raw honey, and a good shake of cayenne pepper. Aside from jolting me wide freaking awake, it just so happens to provide an intense dose of antioxidant + anti-inflammatory action.

graphic

Here’s a lil’ bit about why I love my morning tradition…and why you should probably join me at the bar kitchen counter to take one too. Cheers!

Turmeric: I could go on and on about the health benefits of raw turmeric, but here’s the Cliffs Notes: The main component of Turmeric, called Curcumin, is known to block cancer causing enzymes and fight free-radicals, and is one of if not the most powerful natural anti-inflammatories.  It’s also a pretty color when juiced (warning: It stains)

Ginger: Alleviates nausea & gastrointestinal issues, has direct anti-inflammatory effects, is packed full of antioxidants, boosts the immune system and is thought to protect against cancers such as Ovarian and Colon.

Lemon: Lemon has amaze benefits, but who wants a tall glass of lemon juice with their oatmeal? Not me, so I add it to my AM shot for its anti-viral and anti-bacterial properties. It’s also a digestive aid, a liver cleanser, and is full of Vitamin C (which, besides the obvi, aids in preventing collagen breakdown in the face…in other words, keeps you looking young. Cheers to that.)

Raw Honey: Sure, it takes the edge of the tanginess of the ginger and lemon but it’s oh-so-much more. Did you know that honey is a natural multi-vitamin? Welp, now you do, and it’s also anti-viral/bacterial/fungal, strengthens the immune system, can keep allergies at bay and helps with the production of antioxidants in the bloodstream. Boom. I specifically use raw honey for two reasons:

  1. The pasteurization process kills off most of the beneficial elements of honey
  2. And because the dear ol’ FDA defines honey as “anything containing pollen.” Sketchville, USA.

Psst- Do your research on raw honey to make sure you can eat it – there are peeps (like pregnant women, people with allergies to pollen, and children under age 1 to name a few) who are advised to steer clear of unpasteurized foods. 

All you need is a juicer for the turmeric, ginger and lemon (no Vita Mix required – my iffy Breville juicer does the trick), a tablespoon of honey and a shake or two of cayenne. Combine in a martini shaker, strain into a shot glass, and toss it back like an old pro.

Hangover not included.

One Response to “Shots Before Noon”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Deal With Inflammation | Legwarmer Nation - November 5, 2013

    […] This shot can be made with at home with juicer and is packed full of anti-inflammatories, including turmeric, ginger, and lemon. […]

Leave a Reply

Go Kaleo

Sanity in health and fitness.

Chicago Grace

A life blessed in the Midwest.

My Real Food Family

helping families eat healthier with real food that's real good

Oh She Glows

an (active) lifestyle blog

an (active) lifestyle blog

Running to the Kitchen

Healthy, simple recipes made fun

The Londoner

an (active) lifestyle blog

Legwarmer Nation

an (active) lifestyle blog

